Connect with us
Chuba Akpom with PFA Championship Players' Player of the Year trophy


Chuba Akpom wins PFA Championship Players’ Player of the Year

Chuba Akpom wins PFA Championship Players’ Player of the Year

Former Middlesbrough striker Chuba Akpom has been named the winner of the 2023 PFA Championship Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Chuba Akpom was named the inaugural winner during the award ceremony held on Tuesday, where Manchester City’s Erling Haaland and Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka also won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year respectively.

The Nigerian-born striker won the award ahead of Burnley’s Nathan Tella and Josh Brownhill, Sheffield United’s Iliman Ndiaye, Luton City’s Carlton Morris and Coventry City’s Viktor Gyokeres.

Akpom was highest goal scorer in the Championship last season, scoring 28 goals in just 40 appearances for Middlebrough.

He had earlier won the English Football League Championship Player of the Season award in May. This was after he had earlier been named in the league’s player for the month for December 2022.

Akpom left Middlesbrough for Dutch giants Ajax Amsterdam earlier in the month in a deal worth €12.3million.

Akpom was born on October 9, 1995, in London and followed the youth academy of Arsenal, where he also made his debut in professional football.

The right-footed player went on loan to several English clubs before transferring to the Greek PAOK FC in 2018. Two years later, the attacker signed with Middlesbrough F.C.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Nottingham Forest launch bid for Wilfred Ndidi | Bold Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Open chat
Hello. Do you want to keep receiving our stories via WhatsApp/Telegram? Send us a message!