Connect with us


Oshoala places 16th in 2022 Women’s Ballon d’Or

Oshoala places 16th in 2022 Women’s Ballon d’Or

Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala placed 16th in the 2022 Women’s Ballon d’Or awarded to the best female footballer within the year.

The award which took place in Paris on Monday, saw Oshoala’s Barcelona teammate Alexia Putellas retain the award for a second year in a row after also winning it last year.

The Spanish midfielder had captained Barcelona Femini to a domestic treble in the 2021/22 season, claiming the Spanish league title for the third season in a row.

Arsenal’s England striker Beth Mead came second after winning the Golden Boot and emerging the best player as the Lionesses won Euro 2022, while Chelsea’s Sam Kerr was third.

Women’s Ballon d’Or
1. Alexia Putellas (Barcelona / Spain, midfielder)

2. Beth Mead (Arsenal / England, forward)

3. Sam Kerr (Chelsea / Australia, forward)

4. Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg / Germany, midfielder)

5. Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona / Spain, midfielder)

6. Alex Popp (Wolfsburg / Germany, forward)

7. Ada Hegerberg (Lyon /Norway, forward)

8. Wendie Renard (Lyon / France, defender)

9. Catarina Macario (Lyon / United States, midfielder)

10. Lucy Bronze (Barcelona / England, defender)

11. Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal / Netherlands, forward)

12. Christiane Endler (Lyon / Chile, goalkeeper)

13. Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave / United States, forward)

14. Selma Bacha (Lyon / France, defender)

15. Millie Bright (Chelsea / England, defender)

16. Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona / Nigeria, forward)

17. Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris St-Germain / France, forward)

18. Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit / United States, forward)

19. Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona / Sweden, midfielder)

20. Kadidiatou Diani (Paris St-Germain / France, forward)

In the men’s category, Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema won the award for the first time after leading the Spanish giants to win the league title and the Champions League.

Senegal’s Sadio Mane was second ahead of Manchester City’s Belgium midfielder Kevin De Bruyne.

Ballon d’Or results
1. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France).

2. Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich, Senegal).

3. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium).

4. Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona, Poland).

5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt).

6. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain, France).

7. Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium).

8. Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil).

9. Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia).

10. Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway).

11. Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur, South Korea)

12. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City, Algeria).

13. Sebastien Haller (Borussia Dortmund, Ivory Coast).

14. Fabinho (Liverpool, Brazil) tied with Rafael Leao (AC Milan, Portugal).

16. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, Netherlands).

17. Luis Diaz (Liverpool, Colombia) tied with Dusan Vlahovic (Juventus, Serbia) and Casemiro (Manchester United, Brazil).

20. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Portugal).

21. Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur, England).

22. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool, England) tied with Phil Foden (Manchester City, England) and Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal).

25. Joao Cancelo (Manchester City, Portugal) tied with Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich, Germany), Mike Maignan (AC Milan, France), Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid, Germany), Darwin Nunez (Liverpool, Uruguay) and Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig, France).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Open chat
Hello. Do you want to keep receiving our stories via WhatsApp/Telegram? Send us a message!