Connect with us


Oshoala, Nnadozie, and others make CAF women’s awards final shortlist

Oshoala, Nnadozie, and others make CAF women’s awards final shortlist

Super Falcons stars Asisat Oshoala and Chiamaka Nnadozie are among the top 10 contenders for the 2023 CAF Women’s Player of The Year award, which will be presented in Marrakesh, Morocco on December 11th.

The Confederation of African Football on Monday announced the final shortlist for the women’s award. A total of 30 players had been shortlisted for the award on November 14 but the list has been pruned down to the 10 best female players on the continent.

The likes of Christy Ucheibe (Benfica),  Osinachi Ohale (Alaves/Pachuca), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid), Toni Payne (Sevilla) and Uchenna Kanu (Tigres/Racing Louisville) failed to make the final cut.

Also read: Victor Osimhen helps Napoli secure victory over Atalanta on return from injury

Aside from making the top 10 for the Player of the Year award, Nnadozie also made the final cut for the women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award which has been pruned down to the five best on the continent from the previous list of 10 earlier in the month. 

Chiamaka Nnadozie

In the Young Player of the Year category, the duo of Deborah Abiodun (Pittsburg Panthers) and Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Delta Queens) made the final cut while Randy Waldrum made the final shortlist for the Coach of the Year, and Nigeria was also represented in the National Team of the Year category. 

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Women)

1.       Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)

2.       Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)

3.       Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4.       Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5.       Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

6.       Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

7.       Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

8.       Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)

9.       Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)

10.    Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

1.       Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)

2.       Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)

3.       Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

4.       Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

5.       Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

1.       Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)

2.       Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

3.       Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4.       Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5.       Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

 Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

1.       Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

2.       Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

3.       Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)

4.       Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)

5.       Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

1.       Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)

2.       Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

3.       Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)

4.       Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

5.       Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)

1.       Morocco

2.       Nigeria

3.       Senegal

4.       South Africa

5.       Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

1.       Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)

2.       AS FAR (Morocco)

3.       SC Casablanca (Morocco)

4.       Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

5.       JKT Queens (Tanzania)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Open chat
Hello. Do you want to keep receiving our stories via WhatsApp/Telegram? Send us a message!