Connect with us


Colombia 2024: Falconets coach picks Folorunsho, Ajakaye, Adoo, 16 others for Tanzania

Colombia 2024: Falconets coach picks Folorunsho, Ajakaye, Adoo, 16 others for Tanzania

Head Coach of Nigeria’s U-20 girls, Christopher Musa Danjuma has selected three goalkeepers, six defenders, five midfielders and five forwards for next Sunday’s FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup second round, first leg qualifying match against their Tanzanian counterparts.

Goalkeeper Faith Omilana, who starred in Nigeria U17 team’s run to a first-ever FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup bronze medal-finish in India last year, is listed alongside fellow India 2022 star Taiwo Afolabi, as well as defender Comfort Folorunsho and forward Opeyemi Ajakaye, who also played key roles in India and were part of the Super Falcons’ defeat of Ethiopia in a 2024 Women Olympic Football Tournament qualifying fixture last month.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup quarter-finalists have been training in Abuja for more than two weeks, and will take on the Tanzanian girls at the Azam Sports Complex in Dar es Salaam from 3pm Tanzania time (1pm Nigeria time) on Sunday.

Both teams will make it a date again at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja on Sunday, 19 November, with the winner on aggregate progressing to the third round of the race to Colombia next year.

The Confederation of African Football has picked Letticia Antonella Viana from e-Swatini as referee for the match, with her compatriots Patricia Mkhaliph, Siphiwayikhosi Nxumalo and Nothando Nkhumane as assistant referee 1, assistant referee 2 and fourth official respectively. Kenyan Margaret Omondi will serve as match commissioner.

For the return leg in Abuja, Rachel Nzigire from Democratic Republic of Congo will be referee, with Ngarassoum Victorine as assistant referee 1. Rachel’s compatriots Carine Puazi and Carine Ampur will be assistant referee 2 and fourth official respectively, with Christine Ziga from Ghana as match commissioner.  


Goalkeepers: Anderline Mgbechi (Delta Queens); Shukura Bakare (Nasarawa Amazons); Faith Omilana (Naija Ratels)

Defenders: Oluchi Ohaegbulem (Nasarawa Amazons); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Semilore Oladeji (Naija Ratels)

Midfielders: Adoo Yina (Nasarawa Amazons); Taiwo Afolabi (Delta Queens); Shola Shobowale (Nasarawa Amazons); Aminat Folorunsho (Rivers Angels); Chioma Olise (Edo Queens)

Forwards: Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens); Judith Okah (Remo Queens); Chiamaka Okwuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Chisom Chima (Bayelsa Queens); Janet Akekoromowei (Asisat Academy)  

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Open chat
Hello. Do you want to keep receiving our stories via WhatsApp/Telegram? Send us a message!